Research Guides: Social and Behavior Science Resources: Videos: DVD, Streaming, etc.

About the Video Collection

The Library has over 1,500 videos on DVD and VHS and more than 45,000 streaming videos online. The collection is about 65% feature films and 35% documentaries.

Curricular Focus
The Library purchases video materials in direct support of curricular needs across all disciplines represented at the College. We purchase most titles requested by faculty if needed for classes. We also purchase materials that contribute to the broader study of media, including critically acclaimed titles, award winners, and films from specific studios and/or distributors.

Services
The Library is committed to supporting the use of video in teaching and learning at the College. In addition to our extensive video collection and specialized viewing equipment and spaces, we offer a number of services to facilitate the use of the Library’s video collections. Liaison Librarians are available to consult with faculty and students to help locate appropriate video content for a class or research project, purchase new content, plan screenings or film festivals, and offer assistance with technical and intellectual property issues.

Streaming Video Portals

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides access to a broad selection of streaming video titles for educational purposes, including documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, and feature films. Kanopy's collection includes films from hundreds of content providers, including New Day Films, PBS, the Criterion Channel, Kino Lorber, and Documentary Educational Resources.
Films provided through Kanopy include public performance rights (PPR).
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
People who witness notable historic moments, either in real time or on film, remember how they felt at the time. Now you can experience these and thousands of other historical moments in the same visceral way with American History in Video. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. The collection also includes many award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts, that bring history alive for students and library patrons.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ includes over 600 productions, from musicals to literary classics and in a range of formats including captured theatre, films, TV adaptations, audio theatre, and poetry recitals; more than 800 video resources such as interactive workshops, dynamic e-learning videos, and exclusive interviews, lectures, and documentaries; and over 21,000 pages of written resources, from accessible guides to essays to ready-made teaching resources, written by educators for educators.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
The Docuseek2 Complete Collection contains exclusive documentaries from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world. The Docuseek2 Collection has a focus on environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, the arts, and more.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release now provides 1,018 titles, equaling approximately 803 hours.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic cannon.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need.
Sage Video This link opens in a new window
Provides the Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology & Criminal Justice, and Nursing Video Collections from Sage Video
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of over 350 productions of plays from Aeschylus through Shakespeare and Beckett to Sam Shepherd. Also documentaries about productions and interviews with authors, directors, and actors.

NOTE: Not all video sources are available off campus.