The UVA Wise Library provides an extensive collection of online databases, offering a diverse range of academic resources to support the research and educational needs of students, faculty, and staff. These databases cover various subject areas and provide access to scholarly journals, articles, eBooks, multimedia content, and more.
Our databases provide:
Subject Coverage: The library's databases cover a wide array of disciplines.
Full-Text Access: Many of the databases offer full-text access to academic articles, research papers, and eBooks, providing users with comprehensive and in-depth information directly from the source.
Peer-Reviewed Content: A significant portion of the database content consists of peer-reviewed and scholarly publications, ensuring the reliability and credibility of the information available.
Multimedia Resources: Some databases include multimedia elements such as videos, audio files, images, and interactive content, enriching the learning experience and supporting research in various disciplines.
Advanced Search and Filters: The databases typically provide robust search features, allowing users to conduct precise searches based on keywords, authors, publication dates, and other criteria. Advanced filters help users narrow down their search results to find the most relevant information.
Remote Access: UVA Wise students, faculty, and staff can access these databases remotely, providing flexibility in research and study, particularly for those who may be off-campus or studying from a distance.
Citation Tools: Many databases offer citation tools to generate accurate citations for the sources used in research, making it easier for users to maintain proper academic integrity.
Current and Historical Content: Depending on the database, users may access up-to-date research as well as historical archives, providing a comprehensive view of the development of ideas and knowledge within a field.
Vendor Platforms: Each database is usually hosted on a vendor platform, which may have its unique interface and features. The library website often provides guidance and tutorials on how to navigate and effectively use each database.
The UVA Wise Library's databases are continuously updated and expanded to reflect the evolving needs of the academic community. Librarians and library staff also provide support, assistance, and training to help users effectively utilize these databases for their research and academic endeavors, ensuring that they can access high-quality and authoritative information to enrich their learning and scholarship.
