Resources & Support Guide: Faculty

Use this link to submit a request to ask the Library to purchase an item.

Procedures and Criteria for Material Selection

The mission of the UVAWise Library is to actively support excellence in teaching and preparing students to be engaged citizens by developing diverse, inclusive and vital collections, facilitating access to resources, and teaching the effective use of information sources and critical evaluation skills. 

A.        General Guidelines:

Several criteria are used in selecting resources, including but not limited to:

• Relevance to existing collections and to the College’s curriculum.
• The scholarly importance of the material.
• The material’s subject and scope of content.
• The currency/timeliness of the resource or its historic significant.
• Compliance with electronic information technology accessibility.
• Cost and format, for ongoing resources such as journals and databases, including, but not limited to, annual price increases.
• The extent to which the resource contributes to the Library’s efforts to promote diversity, inclusion and understanding.

All requests for materials are reviewed and evaluated by the Library Director who will consult with others responsible for collection development as appropriate.  Duplicate copies will not be purchased unless there is a distinct circumstance or requirement that creates a need for multiple copies.  Unusual formats or items requiring special equipment will be carefully evaluated for a possible substitute, usefulness and long-term provision.

New titles on frequently researched items that have lasting value, such as literary criticism, will be added even though other similar titles are in the collection.

B.        Book Selection

Though, selection criteria vary across disciplines the eBook is the preferred format followed by hardcover; however, exceptions will be made in areas where materials will likely be replaced on a regular basis.  Also, print materials for which light use is anticipated or items that are updated every 5 years or less, may be acquired in a softcover format.  If a desirable item is not available electronically or in hardcover, a suitable softcover edition may be acquired at the discretion of the Library Director.

1. The Library subscribes to Resources for College Libraries, an Association of College Libraries product, which provides reviews of published books. The materials covered are both new and classic titles.  Faculty can search for reviews based on their subject areas and areas of special interest. 
2. The Library reviews evaluations of eBook materials in a similar manner to traditional hardcopy library materials via tools such as, but not limited to, GoodReads, Booklist and Bookish.
3. Standard selection tools (i.e. journals of reviews in subject areas, Books in Print, publisher’s reviews, Booklist, etc.) may be used instead of the RCL reviews.  A review from a reputable independent review publication is preferred to publisher’s reviews, advertising material, or catalog descriptions.
4. There are two deadlines for submitting selection requests.  The first deadline is in December of each year, by which time academic departments are required to spend one half of their Library funds.  The second deadline is near the end of February, by which time all requests must be submitted.  The Library Director reserves the right to adjust deadlines based on budgetary realities.  Department Chairs &/ individual faculty will always be notified of the adjusted dates and late requests will be considered based on available funds, need, and merit.
5. All requests are to be submitted to the Library Director who reviews each request based on selection criteria and will reject inappropriate material requests and may reject duplicate material requests. Basic selection criteria recommended, but not limited to, are as follows:

• Contribution to the field of knowledge
• Strength of the Library’s present holdings in the subject area
• Literary quality
• Cost
• Critical review(s)
• Format and ease of use
• Anticipated use and audience
• Reputation of the author/editor/publisher
• Timeliness of the publication
• Objectivity

eBook selection includes all of the criteria mentioned above, as well as

• Platform/User Interface of the title.

When feasible, the Library selects concurrent, multi-user licenses for eBooks depending on publisher availability, cost, and currency of the content to meet curricular needs. 

Minor repair activities will be supported for books, however in general the Library will replace lost, stolen, or damaged materials if the item meets current selection criteria.  The Library Director will work collaboratively with the Library’s liaison librarians and academic department faculty to determine the appropriate replacement format.

C.        Periodicals and Serials

Periodicals and serials include, but are not limited to, journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, and indexes.  All subscriptions are subject to annual review. All scholarly journals are provided electronically.  Journals databases are subject to change according to the terms governing the Library’s access by licenses. Access may change depending on the contractual agreements between the publishers and aggregators, thus the Library does not always have control over access to some publications. If a journal title becomes unavailable through an aggregated database, the Library will consider purchasing online access directly from the publisher depending on cost. The following factors are considered, but not limited, in the acquisition, retention, deselection, deletion or cancelation of a periodical title or index:

1. The indexing or abstracting services in which the periodical is covered must be available.  Indexing of the periodical is of primary importance in order to provide access.
2. The reputation and standing of the periodical as evidenced by coverage and reviews in standard academic review publications.
3. Faculty justifications submitted to the Library Director when the request for purchase is submitted. 
4. The contribution of the title to the existing collection and/or to new subject areas or disciplines.
5. Titles currently available electronically through VIVA or library subscription databases will not be added to the collection.
6. Subscriptions costs for periodicals requested by faculty members will be deducted from the faculty member’s existing library materials budget for the first three years.  (NOTE: After three years the title will be assessed by the Library’s liaison librarian for the academic department for possible continuation or cancelation.)
7. Titles may be deleted or canceled if use is infrequent, cost becomes exorbitant, the Library’s budget is reduced/cut, degrees or courses are no longer offered, or the title meets other standards for deletion or cancelation as listed in the general guidelines.
8. Newspaper subscriptions will be limited to leading national publications and local or regional titles.  Selected backfiles will be maintained, primarily in digitized or electronic formats.

D.        Multimedia

Multimedia material includes, but is not limited to, DVD, CD, and multi-media kits.  Faculty may request the purchase of materials from their library budget. The preferred format for multimedia materials is a streaming service/database. The following factors are considered when purchasing audio-visual materials.

1. All items must meet basic selection criteria.
2. Appropriateness and usefulness within the curriculum and the usefulness within other curriculum areas.
3. Materials for use by students.  (NOTE: Materials solely designed to support classroom teaching are to be purchased by academic departments.)
4. Need for equipment, as equipment is not provided by the Library to support use of audiovisuals.
5. Prioritization by the academic department of audio-visual materials requested for purchase is required.  Exceptions are made for some curriculum areas, such as film, art, and history classes, where audio-visuals are an essential component of the curriculum.
6. Outdated media, such as VHS, audiocassette, and multi-media kits, will not be actively sought, but in consultation with the Library Director and the Library’s liaison librarians materials may be added to the collection on a case-by-case basis for specific reasons.

E.        Reference

The reference collection consists of a wide range of reference sources including, but not limited to, encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, indexes, abstracts, almanacs, and yearbooks in electronic and print formats.  The reference resources are designed to provide specific pieces of information.  The Educational Services & Research Support Department team members, in consultation with the Library Director and faculty, will make selection decisions for the reference collection. The following guidelines for the reference collection are:

1. Usefulness of the publication, considering the programmatic needs of the College at Wise curriculum without preference to any one program. (NOTE: Usefulness is balanced against the strengths and weaknesses of the existing collection as measured by frequency of use, demand, or need for a source in the reference collection because of number of questions asked or answered from it.)
2. Updating of standard reference works.  As feasible, electronic versions of print sets are used to update the collection.
3. Authoritativeness.
4. Uniqueness of the coverage in the source.  (NOTE: the source contains a considerable amount of information not found elsewhere. There needs to be a balance between uniqueness and duplicativeness of information with weight going to uniqueness.)
5. Currency or publication date, which varies by discipline/subject area.
6. Breadth and depth of coverage.
7. Difficulty of independent use by patrons because of arrangement of information, required interpretation of organization of data, etc. (NOTE: Difficulty should be unrelated to format.)
8. Specialized works are added to the reference collection at the discretion of the Educational Services & Research Support Department team members, in consultation with the Library Director and faculty.

F.         Electronic Formats

For the purposes of this policy, electronic format will be considered materials that require computer access in order to utilize the information.  In support of a digital first, patron-centered collection development and maintenance policy, the following guidelines for electronic format are considered:

1. Materials in electronic format will be considered for purchase based on the same criteria as print resources. 
2. When feasible, the Library selects concurrent, multi-user licenses.  (NOTE: Depending on publisher availability, cost, and ability of the content to meet curricular needs.)
3. In general, the Library will replace lost, stolen, or damaged materials in an electronic format, if the content meets current selection criteria.  (NOTE:  Educational Services & Research Support Department team members will determine the appropriate replacement format.  As necessary, Educational Services & Research Support Department team members will collaborate with the Library Director and faculty.)
4. Since electronic resources are sometimes more expensive to acquire and maintain, additional value should be added by the electronic format. Additional value could be providing wider access or added ease in use. In addition, the following criteria should be considered:
   • Electronic resources should meet current industry standards.
   • Access: ease, issues, either physical or licensing restrictions.
   • Frequency and ease of updates to maintain currency.
   • Production quality.
   • If the resource can be networked or access provided through a proxy server.
   • User-friendliness of the resource, which can include:

• on-screen tutorials
• prompts, menus, introductory screens
• access to help
• both novice and expert searching, as well as browsing
• ability to print, download, or email data

• Vendor reliability and ability to provide customer support, updates, and/or new versions.
• Commitment of funds to renew or update the resource on a regular basis, if required.

G.        Other types of material

1.         Juvenile

A small, focused collection of juvenile literature will be maintained. A copy of the Newberry and Caldecott winners will be purchased annually, while other titles will be added as funds and format are available.  Aforementioned selection criteria for materials applies.  The collection does not attempt to be comprehensive. The local Lonesome Pine Regional Public Library System has an excellent juvenile collection which patrons are encouraged to utilize.       

2.         Textbooks

For the purpose of this document, a textbook may be described as an edition of a book specifically intended for the use of students who are enrolled in a course of study, i.e. a required reader for a current class.  Textbooks, workbooks, and consumable materials are not purchased with library funds nor are they added to the collection when received as gifts.  By faculty request, the Library will place on Course Reserve textbook materials provided by faculty. 

 All students deserve to be able to access course texts. The high costs of textbooks and other course materials prohibit access and perpetuate inequity. The Library is committed to partnering with faculty to reduce the cost of textbooks and other required course materials and supports the state’s VIVA Open & Affordable Course Content Initiative.  Faculty are encouraged to replace high-cost textbooks through the VIVA Faculty Textbook Portal &/ with materials in the Library’s collections, which includes ebooks, scholarly journals and streaming video titles that are accessible by students at no direct cost.   

3.         Regional and state materials

The Library acquires materials that represent the history, culture and current events and status of Virginia, with special emphasis on the Appalachian region.  Works by Appalachian and local authors are purchased if they meet selection criteria. The Library is currently a full depository for the Virginia State Library with most materials added as e-content.

4.         Fiction, Poetry, and Drama

Works of fiction, poetry, and drama are purchased primarily to support the literature curriculum.  Award winning or outstanding contemporary fiction, poetry, and drama may be purchased if funding is available.

5.         Open Access  

Open access intends to make access to content and research more affordable and available. The Library supports the principles of open access, as outlined in the IFLA Statement on Open Access to Scholarly Literature and Research Documentation.