Research Guides: Library Resource Guide: Students: Finding Books and eBooks

Books

How do I find a book on the shelves?

Our books are organized by subject using the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System
Feel free to ask anyone at the Library's Service Desk on the 4th floor or any liaison librarian to help you find your book

What are those white labels on the spine of all the books?

The white labels on the spine of the book displays its Call Number. A Call Number tells you where a book it is located in the library.
- Each number and letter refers to details about that book's subject and it's title and author.
Call Numbers start with letters that match up with subject categories.
- A Call Numbers beginning with NC:
  - The subject category, N, is Fine Arts and the subcategory, NC, is Drawing Design, and Illustration
  - Think of NC like the name of street you live on.
  - The combination of NC with other numbers and letters gives you the shelf "address" of a specific book.

eBooks

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use and manage the information.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need.

E-book projects--Nonsubscription

ebooks@ibiblio
"Home to one of the largest 'collections of collections' on the Internet, ibiblio.org is a conservancy of freely available information, including software, music, literature, art, history, science, politics, and cultural studies." This is an excellent place just to browse.

Google Books Search
Find full text and/or bibliographic information using the world's best known search engine to search though one of the largest collaborative digitization projects ever. To find "Full Text Books," select that option before doing a search.

Internet Library of Early Journals
Browse through at least 20 consecutive years of British journals: 18th-century Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society; and three 19th-century journals: Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.

LibraVox
A site designed to facilitate the sharing of audio books. It works like this; users select a chapter of a literary work that is out of copyright and in the public domain and record themselves reading it. Then the audio file is uploaded to the site and available for download.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is the oldest digital library. It is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most of the books in the collection are the full text of books that are in the public domain. They have over 28,000 items in their collection and use open formats so that they can be used with almost any computer. Most releases are in English, but there are some non-English titles available.