American Rhetoric
Online speach bank that contains almost 300 active links to more than 5000 public speaches.
ADD: Access to Archival Databases
Contains 30 series of electronic records from the National Archive and Records Administration.
American Memory: HIstorical Collections at the National Digital Library
Multimedia collections of historical and digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures and text from the Library of Congress's Americana Collection.
Cencus Bureau
Most known for for collecting the decennial cencus information about the population of the United States. The Cencus Bureau also produces a variety of other information about the United States and its population.
Eurodocs
Links to primary historical documents from Western Europe.
Making of America
Searchable digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Eyewitness to History
"History through the eyes of those who lived it." Primary source material, articles, photos, audio recordings and video clips about important people and events throughout history.
Social Wlfare History Project Image Portal
Photoghraphs, pamphlets, artifacts and documents chronicalling the history of the nation's respnse to human need. Volunteer organizations, reform movements, social workers, and government responses.
American Memory
Multimedia collections of historical and digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures and text from the Library of Congress's Americana Collection.
America in the 1930's
A view of the 1930's through the films, radio programs, literature, journalism, museums, exhibitions, architecture, art and other cultural expressions of the time.
Founders Online
Searchable records of George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. Includes thousands of unpublished documents.
National Museum of American Jewish History
The "social, cultural, economic and political life of American Jews in the United States" through descriptions and photographs of exhibits.
The American Cival War: A collection of free online primary sources
Online collection of letters, newspaper articles, images, photographs and diaries.
Working Women, 1870 -1930
Digitized collection of manuscipts, books, pamphlets, photographs and other print resources on working women. Part of Harvard Library's Open Collections Program.
Documenting the American South: Primanry Resources for the Study of Southern History, Literature and Culture
A Collection of primary resources about the culture, litature, and history of the American South that was craeted by and is primarily form the holdings of the University Libraries of the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill.
Born Into Slavery: Slave Narrative from the Federal Writers Project, 1936-1938
Contains more than 2300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 photographs of former slaves. Collected in the 1930s.
Virginia Runaways
Runaways slave advertisements published in the 18th century Virginia newspapers. Searchable.
Virginia Memories
Part of the on-line prescence of the Library of Virginia. Established in 1823, Virgina Memories contains a vast and varied collection on the history of the commonwealth.
Ancient Britain
Maps and descriptiois of pehistoric sacred sites around Britain.
The British Empire
Site includes timelines, art and culture, armed forces and bibliographies of the British Empire.
Cybrary of the Holocaust
Historical images, personal acccounts, books by Holocaust survivors and information about family and friends who were lost and found .
Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
Comprehensive sourcebook with online, full text, primary source materials on the history of China, Japan and Korea from ancient to modern times.
Internet India History Sourcebook
Covers many aspects of Indian history from acient India to modern times. Also includes Pakistan, Bangladesh, Burma and Sri Lanka.
Ancient Greece
Informative and well-illustrated guide to Acient Greece. Coveres art, archetchture, politics, Olympics, gorography, mythology, peoples, war, history and other topics.
Realms of the Sacred: Early Written Records of Mesoamerica
Contains pictures and descriptive explanations of codices from the major acient Mesoamerican civilizations. Focuses on the Maya, Aztec and Mixtec civilizations. Also some focus on codices from the colonial area.
A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
A concise guide to technical terms and personal names often found in philosophy.
Histroy of Philosophy
Large collection of online essays and web resources. Topics include Camus, institutional suicide of Chinese Buddhism and Ayn Rand. Covers both Eastern and Western Philosophy.
Logical Fallacies
Comprehensive and concise explanations and examples of common false arguments. Can follow liinks between connected fallacies.
Philosophy Pages
Dictionary of philosophy terms, timeline and philosopher's bibliographies. Focused on Western philosophy.
Standford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Up-to-date free and searchable reference.
Adherents.com
Statistics on religions and religious practiioners.
Biblical Studies on the Web
Includes a search engine that searches electronic articles within the field.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Religious text and basic information about various relious traditions.
Virtual Religion Index
List of religious websites organized according to tradition, discipline and geography.
