Visual and Performing Arts Resources

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals

Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.

Project Muse provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. It also provides online access to some of their books.

JSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.

Full text scripts of the major American films from the silent era on.

Country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing.

Classical Scores Library is a series of three volumes and contains the most important classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 45,000 musical scores. Classical Scores Library, Volumes I, II, and III serve as an integral resource for music students and faculty, encompassing all major classical musical genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary. With full, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, appreciation, and theory for a variety of scholars.

Classical Music Reference Library brings together more than 40,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.

African American Music Reference contains 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers he first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Listen online to thousands of jazz recordings.

Musical and Performing Arts Online delivers the largest, most diverse catalog of music content in the world for students, scholars, and patrons of the arts. The multimedia resource features works from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats - including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.

A Large collection of classical and world music from the Naxos and Marco Polo labels. Recordings plus descriptive information. Note: Please logout at the end of your session.

Popular Music Library from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic cannon.

World music from Smithsonian Folkways and other labels and from African and South Asian ethnomusicological collections.

Streaming video of over 350 productions of plays from Aeschylus through Shakespeare and Beckett to Sam Shepherd. Also documentaries about productions and interviews with authors, directors, and actors.

Digital Theatre+ includes over 600 productions, from musicals to literary classics and in a range of formats including captured theatre, films, TV adaptations, audio theatre, and poetry recitals; more than 800 video resources such as interactive workshops, dynamic e-learning videos, and exclusive interviews, lectures, and documentaries; and over 21,000 pages of written resources, from accessible guides to essays to ready-made teaching resources, written by educators for educators.