All Nurses.com
Features an online newsletter, as well as information on nursing education, nursing organizations, and nursing boards. This site is searchable.
American Association for the History of Nursing (AAHN)
This professional organization is open to everyone interested in the history of nursing. It's purpose is to foster the importance of history in understanding the present and guiding the future of nursing. The site includes Feature Exhibits, Gravesite Series, Nursing History Calendar, AAHN Leadership, Historical Methodology, Resources for Nursing History and the AAHN Journal: Nursing History Review.
American Nurses Association Nursing World
This site has mostly organization-specific information; some links and current issues news. It also has listing of state organizational affiliates. It features the full text Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, credentialing information, fellowship programs, and more. This site is searchable.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
This searchable web site features information about the Center, health issues for travelers, general health information, current news, and links to other health-related sites.
MEDLINEplus
The National Library of Medicine's MEDLINEplus provides resources on common diseases and conditions, definitions of medical terms, directories for locating hospitals and more.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
NCHS, run by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), hosts a large volume of information covering every aspect of health in the United States. MOre than just information about diseases is available: mortality and natality, exercise, marriage, injury, and access to health care are included.
National Library of Medicine Gateway
Includes a section with resources for health information.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service to access the 11 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.
The Cochrane Library
This online library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. This database includes systematic reviews of health care interventions that are produced and disseminated by The Cochrane Collaboration. The Cochrane Library is published on quarterly basis and made available both on CD-ROM and the internet. It is the single best source of reliable evidence about the effects of health care. The review abstracts are available to browse and search free of charge on their website. The full text of all Cochrane databases are available to subscribers via our publisher Wiley.
