GENERAL GOVERNMENT RESOURCES
USA.gov
An easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from local, state, and U.S. Government Agency websites.
State and Local Government on the Net
An index to many state and local government websites across the nation.
LOCAL GOVERNMENT
Wise County Interactive
The official site for the county, it contains the agenda and minutes of the Board of Supervisors, the chamber of commerce, information on schools, etc.
Wise County and City of Norton Clerk of Court
This site is useful for lawyers and judges, but also for the general public because it has land records and information useful to genealogists.
VIRGINIA GOVERNMENT
The Commonwealth of Virginia
"This home page is your gateway to the Commonwealth of Virginia... from beach weather to Colonial Williamsburg, state government to state wilderness areas."
Virginia General Assembly
"The Virginia General Assembly Web site was originally developed in response to legislative initiative HJR482 (1995), which directed the Department of Information Technology and the Division of Legislative Automated Systems 'to develop a prototype for providing access to the Legislative Information System through the Internet.'"
Virginia Population Estimates
Weldon Cooper's official population estimates for Virginia.
U.S. FEDERAL GOVERNMENT
Census Bureau
The Census Bureau is known for collecting information about the population of the United States. You can find demographic information about a state, city, county, or a zip code.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
This resources "contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included."
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis collection information on national and international trade, accounts, industry, and economic indicators. BEA maintains a section of its website titled "The U.S. Economy at a Glance," which highlights their most influential economic indicators.
The National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. The site includes historical documents and military records.
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
Includes links to digital versions of the Bill of Rights, Declaration of Independence, Lincoln papers, major Supreme Court decisions, and more
Economic Research Service (ERS)
The second principal statistcal agency operated under the USDA, ERS, like NASS, collects information on agriculture in the United States. However, ERS collects with an eye more toward the economics of agriculture and related fields. Food safety and prices, commodity markets, the rural economy, and agricultural income are covered among other topics.
FindLaw: Supreme Court Decisions
Searchable. Includes opinions published since 1937.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
As the United States' principal source for criminal justice statistics, BJS collects and publishes statistics on all aspects of criminal justice in the United States at teh state, federal, and tribal levels. Crimes by type (violent, property, indenity theft, hate crime, etc.) or victim, corrections populations and facilities, and court systems are covered as well as noncriminal aspects of the justice system, including law enforcement personnel and behavior statistics.
GPO
"The U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) is the Federal Government’s official, digital, secure resource for producing, procuring, cataloging, indexing, authenticating, disseminating, and preserving the official information products of the U.S. Government."
Energy Information Administration
Fossil fuels (petroleum, natural gas, coal), nuclear power, and renewable resources make up the energy production portfolio of the United States, and the EIA keeps track of them all from extraction to consumption at the state and national level, as well as international indicators.
