Research Guides: Business and Economics: Home

Business and Economics

Business Resources-Non-subscription

Business.com
Search engine focused on finding business resources.

Accounting Resources--Nonsubscription

Government Accountability Office (GAO)
This agency, formerly the General Accounting Office studies how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. The GAO advises Congress and the heads of executive agencies about how to make the government both more responsible and more responsive.

Web CPA
This website covers the latest news and issues in the field, including articles from Accounting Today, Accounting Technology and Practical Accountant.

Business Administration Resources--Nonsubscription

Bplans.com: The Planning People
This one one of many commercial sites that make free items available as a courtesy. Sample business plans are available here.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
This government website includes the full text of both Monthly Labor Review and Occupational Outlook Quarterly, as well as other useful information.

Economic Resources--Nonsubscription

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Maintained by the governing body of the Federal Reserve, this site provides an excellent gateway for the Federal Reserve System as a whole. An excellent starting point for anyone interested in banking at the federal level and the economy as a whole.

Business and Economics Resources--Government

Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis collection information on national and international trade, accounts, industry, and economic indicators. BEA maintains a section of its website titled "The U.S. Economy at a Glance," which highlights its most influential economic indicators.

Economic Research Service (ERS)
The second principal statistical agency operated under the USDA, ERS, like NASS, collects information on agriculture in the United States. However, ERS collects with an eye more toward the economics of agriculture and related fields. Food safety and prices, commodity markets, the rural economy, and agricultural income are covered among other topics.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Rely on an unrivaled selection of global news and data accessible via a powerful research platform, on mobile devices or integrated via advanced feeds and APIs
Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new window
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.
Mergent This link opens in a new window
Mergent is a database of corporate information covering 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Data output can be customized and exported as comma-delimited files (readable by Excel and other software). Advanced search capabilities include searching by executive's name, auditor, country code, NAICS or SIC industry code, and selected financial characteristics and ratios.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.